25 Years MTD and Culture Prize Noord-Brabant 2023

Cultuurprijs Noord Brabant
Cultuurprijs Noord Brabant 3
Cultuurprijs Noord Brabant 2
Cultuurprijs Noord Brabant 4
October 6, 2023

Yesterday MTD landscape architects celebrated its 25th anniversary party in the Werkwarenhuis
In 's-Hertogenbosch. A special moment was the presentation of the Noord Brabant Culture Prize 2023 by Ina Adema, King's Commissioner and chairman of the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds Noord-Brabant, to Frank Meijer, partner and landscape architect within the firm.

The festivities were graced by professor of landscape architecture Eric Luiten, who had a nice story about the tradition of the office. He emphasized that MTD established Pieter Buys as a landscape architect in 1949 's-Hertogenbosch is the oldest landscape architecture firm in the Netherlands and is mainly distinguished by the combination of visionary area development and realistic craftsmanship. Jury chairman Jan Baan explained the motives for awarding the prize to Frank Meijer, which can also be interpreted as a prize for the field. Jan Baan praised Meijer for his controlled and narrative handling of built and landscape heritage. “He who knows the past is master of the future.”
In Brabant you recognize Meijers' hand in the projects of the Rampart Zone and the Museum Quarter in 's-Hertogenbosch, the Moerenburg landscape park and the city center of Tilburg, the campus of Eindhoven University of Technology and the entrance square and boulevard of Eindhoven Airport.

film portrait Frank Meijer

The well-attended festivities were musically framed by the live band of Cloud Cukkoo and the DJs Single Ladies and Tommy Hendriks.

The Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds Noord-Brabant awards the Culture Prize every year for special achievements and merits for culture and/or nature in Noord Brabant. Autonomous artistry, quality, artistic independence and the contribution to the development of culture and/or nature in Noord Brabant are the most important criteria. In previous years, the prize has been awarded to Pia Meuthen, Frank Lammers, Eric Vloeimans, Paul van Kemenade, Strijbos & van Rijswijk, among others.